The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

I'm John

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Jemagee

Jemagee

Inspector

• Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 05:29 PM

I've taken a meandering life journey that has led me to Ruby and Rails and am a mostly self taught beginner who goes through fits of not doing any thing for a while and then diving deep in (I do have a full time job that has nothing to do with programming or ruby or rails or web programming).  I did sucessfully build a series of ruby 'mini' programs that probably need a lot of refactoring.  Their purpose is to go to the espn.com web site and download all available information for any NBA game played on a date (or series of dates) and then populate database tables with them...that was my motivation in learning ruby.  It was a bit of a pain since the box scores are only in HTML, and each HTML file is over 1700 lines, I did write the regex to get the information I needed but it didn't work perfectly and I know there are gems for parsing HTML like that but I didn't know about them at the time.   I got them to work, I got back seasons but then I got hung up on other things and didn't continue.  This was the 'primary' motivation in learning ruby - to build these databases that I wanted to build for years (it took me 2 years of thinking about normalization and queries to crack the 'sports results' database design to allow proper calculation of standings and win loss records in a variety of ways).