The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Noob question about object arrays

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 priorcode

priorcode

Signalman

• Members
  • 19 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 15 August 2013 - 04:56 PM

Hello everyone,

I hope this is not too much of a newbie question. I have been looking for posts and haven't found anything yet, so I thought I would try the forum for the first time.

I am a developer at a school district creating a Rails app for scheduling some Intervention classes. I am trying to create a drop-down list of students who are not yet enrolled by subtracting an array of enrolled student numbers from an array of all student numbers. Something like this:

available_students = all_students - enrolled_students

I am getting all_students as the result, and I am assuming it is because the arrays are of different types. The all_students array looks like this in the console:  

[#<Student student_number: 99754.0>, #<Student student_number: 91758.0>, #<Student student_number: 92757.0>  . . .]

while the enrolled_students came from a different table and looks like this in the console:

[#<Enrollment student_number: 99754.0>,#<Enrollment student_number: 99754.0>,#<Enrollment student_number: 99754.0>. . .]

I am thinking that I need to convert these into simple arrays so I can subtract one from the other, but I haven't found how to do that.

I would really appreciate your help letting me know if I am on the right track and how this can be done.

#2 Jemagee

Jemagee

Inspector

• Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 04:59 PM

Why aren't you just querying against the 'students' model for those who are not enrolled?

• james likes this

#3 priorcode

priorcode

Signalman

• Members
  • 19 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 15 August 2013 - 05:24 PM

Because everything about enrollments is in the enrollments table, not the students table. 

#4 james

james

Guard

• Moderators
  • 221 posts