The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Setting up MySQL for rails. Local host not connecting.

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 EdenV

EdenV

Passenger

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 November 2013 - 01:51 AM

Hello everyone. I'm very new to Ruby On Rails and I'm very excited about learning it. However, I've been told that the only way to learn it is to have a MySQL database set up as well to test all the applications through. I've found setting up Rails quite simple and painless. However, all the searches in the world aren't helping me figure out why my MySQL Workbench 6.0 won't connect to the local host (my laptop).

Each time that I do an Internet search to find someone, (ANYONE!), who can help me figure this out, I get all kinds of results from guys who have previous versions of Workbench installed on their computers. Unfortunately, the new 6.0 version has an entirely new look and many of the old program features are no longer available. For first timers like myself, trying to follow instructions and navigate the new user interface with old, outdated instructions is confusing and frustrating.

Even the instructions on the site attempt to walk you through step by step instructions on how to install it and get it up and running. But each step only tells you what to do if the results from the previous step are perfect. When the results are wrong, you're stuck. There are no trouble shooting instructions. I've deleted and reinstalled several times and still can't get the stupid program to recognize the host for the same darn computer it's installed on. Can someone PLEASE help me??!!!!

If anyone out there knows what's going on and can kindly walk me through it via Skype, I'll be the happiest guy on earth!!!

#2 stevieing

stevieing

Dispatcher

• Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 15 November 2013 - 10:40 AM