The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Parsing XML File in Rails

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ruby4life

ruby4life

Passenger

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 July 2015 - 05:27 PM

Screen Shot 2015-07-06 at 10.23.55 AM.png Hi,

I'm a super newbie with ruby on rails and ruby in general.  Basically, I'm trying to display a pre-generated xml file within my rails app.  Super simple, but I can't get it to work.  I created a new controller called "nmap" and it has this code:

class NmapController < ApplicationController

require 'nmap/xml'
def create
@nmapfile = Nmapfile.new(nmapfile_params)
@nmapfile.nmapfilerecords = 0
@nmapfile.save
sleep 8
Nmap::XML.new('/opt/ruby_projects/nmap/nmap_parse/app/views/nmap/test.nmap.xml') do |xml|
    xml.each_host do |host|
      if "#{host.status}" == "down"            
      else
        @nmapfile.nmapfilerecords += 1
      end
    end
end

respond_to do |format|
  if @nmapfile.save
    format.html { redirect_to @nmapfile, notice: 'nmap file was successfully created.' }
    format.json { render action: 'show', status: :created, location: @nmapfile }
  else
    format.html { render action: 'new' }
    format.json { render json: @nmapfile.errors, status: :unprocessable_entity }
  end
end
end

I've placed my xml file in "/opt/ruby_projects/nmap/nmap_parse/app/views/nmap/test.nmap.xml" as you can see above.  However, when I load the webapp, I receive the following errors within the application trace (see attached screenshot):

/opt/ruby_projects/nmap/nmap_parse/app/controllers/nmap_controller.rb:30: syntax error, unexpected $end, expecting keyword_end

This could be extremely simple to do, so I'm looking for someone to help point me in the right direction.

tx.

#2 rahoulb

rahoulb

Controller

• Members
  • 111 posts
  • LocationHeadingley, Leeds, England

Posted 06 July 2015 - 07:27 PM