The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Why Ruby? Rails?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 sammysounder

sammysounder

Passenger

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 September 2013 - 06:24 AM

Hi all!  I've been a dev for about five years now.  PHP was my first languange, but since then I've completed projects in Python, RoR, C# and have played around with a plethora of other languages.  I've reached the point where I can join just about any project and be productive within a week.  

The problem is that I don't really have a home language anymore.  I'm competent in everything, but expert in none.  Recently, a dev I really respect told me I need to go deep in something. I've been debating between Java/Android and Ruby/Rails.  

I've been a Linux dev my whole career (save when I have to run Visual Studio at work), but my small software company is beginning to be successful, and I'm thinking of spending some corporate cash.  

My current dev box is a $500 netbook I bought in Thailand running Fedora.  I'm thinking of going out and purchasing a new Mac for dev work.(if I go RoR).  

Is this smart?  Should I stick with the Linux boxes for RoR development?  

Anyway, I'm looking for advice on RoR vs. Android and if I go RoR, should I spend the moolah to purchase the Mac.  You guys seem like the right folks to ask.

Thanks!
sammy

#2 Rowel

Rowel

Controller

• Members
  • 109 posts

Posted 28 September 2013 - 10:53 AM

You don't necessarily need a Mac to develop RoR.  You can install RoR on linux boxes, Ubuntu, etc.  

But that said, I love my Macs for web development.  I'm a consultant, been running my own web dev company since 1997, and went solo-full time since 2000. --  so take my advice for what it's worth to you.