The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

NoMethodError, problems with Model

NoMethodError Model

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 E Moloney

E Moloney

Passenger

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 August 2014 - 12:55 PM

Greetings all!

I'm a student who's trying to pick up Rails before the next college semester starts. We'll probably be learning it anyway, so I thought that it would be useful to get a handle on it beforehand. I've read over some material, and decided to try my hand at a simple project. The problem is this: I'm having strange problems with one of my Models. The layout of the project is thus:

The relevant classes are Card, which contains the attribute name and no other attributes (other than those which Rails generates automatically through create model), and Weapon, which contains the attributes power, durability, and effect. Weapon extends from Card, and so also has the name attribute. The problem comes when I attempt to create a new Weapon: I receive the following error:

undefined method `power' for #<Weapon id: nil, name: nil, created_at: nil, updated_at: nil>
<div class="field">
<%= f.label :power %><br>
<%= f.text_field :power %>
</div>

Clearly, the app does not recognize that power is an attribute of weapon, and throws out an error whenever I attempt to instantiate a Weapon. I apologize if this is some obvious newbie mistake, but I'd like to be able to move past this error, and from where I'm standing I can't see how to fix this error. Thanks for your time.

#2 Ohm

Ohm

Driver

• Moderators
  • 479 posts
  • LocationCopenhagen

Posted 27 August 2014 - 01:46 PM

Hello, and welcome.

It sounds like you're trying to use STI (single-table inheritance) here. With that your Card and Weapon class will live in the same database table, and thus must have all attributes of both present in the table.

This will be done like so:

class Card < ActiveRecord::Base
  # ... methods for Card
end

class Weapon < Card