The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

new to rails

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 deanforu

deanforu

Passenger

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 August 2013 - 07:12 PM

I'm a web developer for a small web company that doesn't know how to say no to taking on projects, I'm a php developer mainly but I've been put in charge of this ruby on rails site, I can manage to fix most of their problems with the database, however, modifying the ruby on rails application is a different story, I can find the coding on the site fine enough to make modifications, but when I recently went to change a file the modifications I made to the code should have altered the behaviour of the website to allow 3 different user.id's to edit invoices, but really I was not making a change to the behaviour.

cameo@CAMEO-S1:/opt/cameo/current/app/controllers$ vi invoices_controller.rb
# To change this template, choose Tools | Templates
# and open the template in the editor.

class InvoicesController < ApplicationController
        before_filter :requires_lana

def requires_lana
                if self.current_user.id != 93 || self.current_user.id != 16 || self.current_user.id != 69 <-- this is the line I changed from if self.current_user.id != 29
                        flash[:error] = 'Only LanaS may currently access this part of the system.'
                        redirect_to '/'
                end
        end

def edit
                @invoice_header = InvoiceHeader.find(params[:id])
        end

def update
                @invoice_header = InvoiceHeader.find(params[:id])
                # we divied the amount by 1000 to make it easier on the user, so we need to undo that here
                params[:invoice_header][:invoice_attributes].each do |offset, values|
                        values.each do |key, value|
                                values[key] = (values[key].to_f * 1000).to_i if key == 'rate_in_cents' || key == 'expense_amt_in_cents'