The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Rails 4.1: Nested form gives missing parent id error on submit using paperclip

rails4.1 nested forms paperclip

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Vell

• Members
  • 83 posts
  • LocationWashington, DC

Posted 16 May 2014 - 12:35 PM

Hello all,

I can't seem to figure out what is wrong with my nested form where on submission it complains that the parent id is missing from from the child record (if I made sense). This is my first time building a nested form and I have been strugging with this for a little over a day.

Basically, I would like to allow the user to upload attachments at the same time they submit a discussion form but can't seem to figure out get the ID in the submission.

The error I get is that the parent can't be blank (the parent id is missing)

I have tried adding a hidden field in the nested form but that didn't seem to work either. I am wondering if anyone can help me understand what I might be doing wrong.

Here is what I currently have in my application:

def new
  @discussion = Discussion.new
  @discussion_group = DiscussionGroup.find(params[:discussion_group_id])
  @categories = DiscussionCategory.all.collect{|category| [category.name, category.id]}

def discussion_params
  params.require(:discussion).permit(:discussion_group_id, :discussion_category_id, :subject, :body, discussion_attachments_attributes: [:id, :name, :_destroy])

has_many :discussion_attachments, :dependent => :delete_all
accepts_nested_attributes_for :discussion_attachments, allow_destroy: true

belongs_to :discussion
  has_attached_file :document
  validates_attachment :document, content_type: {content_type: ALLOWABLE_APPLICATIONS + ALLOWABLE_IMAGES}
 validates :discussion_id, :document_file_name, presence: :true

<%= form_for @discussion, url: admin_discussions_path, method: :post do |f| %>
    <%= f.fields_for :discussion_attachments do |builder| %>
            <% if builder.object.new_record? %>