The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Connecting local Rails app to remote database

rails databases remote connect link

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Figgy

Figgy

Passenger

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 August 2013 - 07:47 PM

Hello all...

I am a Rails newbie.  I created a database on my server (bluehost).  I have installed rails app through the servers cpanel.  Now, how can I connect my rails project which I have created on my computer to that remote database.  All the tutorials I have seen show how to create a localhost database in mysql, which is great, but how do I link it to that database?  I believe I have to edit the database.yml file, but am unsure how to.  Can anyone please help.  

Thank you....

#2 Ohm

Ohm

Guard

• Members
  • 179 posts
  • LocationCopenhagen

Posted 18 August 2013 - 08:48 PM

You normally do not want to develop with production data, which is why so many suggest that you create a local database whilst developing.

That being said, it is possible to connect to a remote database from your development environment.

You just edit the database.yml file so that the development scope points to the production database:

production: 
  adapter: postgresql
  encoding: utf-8
  pool: 5
  username: "username"
  password: "password"
  host: "hostname"
  port: "port number"
  database: "database name"

Blog: http://ohm.sh | Twitter: madsohm

#3 Figgy

Figgy

Passenger

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 August 2013 - 08:59 PM

Ohm thank you south for the response. Makes total sense not working on a production model. So if I work on my local one, once I'm ready to test it on the remote database, is it as simple as exporting the SQL and importing it to the remote server? Hope that makes sense lol...SQL newbie as well.

#4 Ohm

Ohm

Guard

• Members
  • 179 posts
  • LocationCopenhagen

Posted 18 August 2013 - 09:03 PM