The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Should I take a DevOps or Ruby on Rails Developer role?

Career DevOps Entry Level Advice

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 alphajackson3

alphajackson3

Passenger

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 15 March 2014 - 09:16 PM

I'm currently about to enter the exciting world of professional software development. I already have a degree in finance and in a few weeks I will have my CS degree. I'm currently looking for jobs and I was just wondering what direction I should take. For the past year or so I had my heart set on being a ruby on rails developer so I started learning the language and framework, but finding an entry level position is challenging. I recently had an interview for a DevOps role that went fairly well. At first I was a little put off by the fact that it was not a ROR dev role, but the manager said that there would be some rails development to do. I'm assuming that rails wont be the primary focus since there will be a bunch of other technologies being used. After doing some research on the whole Devops thing I'm starting to get the inkling thats this is a major paradigm shift in how software is developed. Since Devops might be the future of development it might behoove me to get in and get experience with it. Either way I'm at a cross roads in a sense so I was wondering if anyone has any useful advice. Thanks

#2 james

james

Guard

• Members
  • 223 posts
  • LocationLeeds, U.K.

Posted 15 March 2014 - 09:26 PM

That is totally impossible to answer.

Rolls in I.T. can be very boring or they can be extremely challenging and exciting, it doesn;t matter what the technologies are, it it is an exciting roll that you would love to do then go for it :) If it is a roll that enables you to enjoy your work without too much of a challenge so you can spend your weekends at home with your family but still enjoy your work then that's cool too!