The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Migrate vs SQL batch

migrate migration database sql

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 fabiosoft

fabiosoft

Passenger

• Members
  • 6 posts
  • LocationItaly

Posted 26 February 2014 - 06:36 PM

Hi, i'am making a project in Rails and i have all my big database model written in Mysql SQL language.

Can you advice me about using rails migrations or load entire database via phpmyadmin?

PS: I am a rails novice.

Thanks

#2 Norm

Norm

Passenger

• Members
  • 7 posts
  • LocationPrescott, AZ, USA

Posted 26 February 2014 - 07:16 PM

If this is a database used by other applications which you cannot change you have picked a very difficult path to follow in Rails.  It can be done but I would recommend it only for those who are experienced and familiar with Rails.  If it is just the database you have designed to address the problem it does not make much difference how you create it.  I would recommend you create a migration which would create the database because it makes it easier to modify and recreate when the time comes to change things and it can easily be put into a configuration control system.

You may imagine that you have captured the complete model but it will change.  For the easiest progress make sure the naming etc. corresponds to the normal Rails conventions.  Rails makes things easy when you follow the path.  Blazing your own trail is a lot of unnecessary work.

#3 fabiosoft

fabiosoft

Passenger

• Members
  • 6 posts
  • LocationItaly

Posted 26 February 2014 - 09:35 PM

Are you saying it's better to create all models? And if I need to change something? You know I think it's pretty useless create a bunch of migration in development...maybe in production it could have sense.
I don't know ...I am still learning. :)

#4 Norm

Norm

Passenger

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 February 2014 - 10:22 PM   Best Answer