The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Issue with Curl

curl

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 DvDj

DvDj

Signalman

• Members
  • 20 posts
  • LocationUnited Kingdom

Posted 26 February 2014 - 05:03 PM

Hi,

I am new to Rails so have been working my way through the 'Agile Web Development with Rails 4' book to learn, but have become stuck because curl is not being recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

Couldn't seem to find anything on this forum, the books forum or on the internet about it so it is most likely something stupid that I am doing!

I am using the jNode command window on a windows 8 operating system.  

have found that I do have curl installed as part of the gem files at C:\RailsInstaller\Ruby1.9.3\lib\ruby\gems\1.9.1\gems\curb-0.8.5\lib Is it possible that when I am typing the curl command into my command prompt within my projects site it cant find this gemfile? i.e do I need to specify a different address?

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Stuart

#2 james

james

Guard

• Moderators
  • 223 posts
  • LocationLeeds, U.K.

Posted 27 February 2014 - 06:47 PM

curl is installed by default in most *nix OS's (OSX, Mint, Ubuntu etc..) so it was probably an oversight not to mention that if running on a Windows OS then you would need to install it. Having said that you are expected to have git installed and curl is included as part of git installation so check that Git is running properly before you do anything as drastic as installing curl manually.