The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Session variable

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Luis Manrique

Luis Manrique

Passenger

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 January 2014 - 06:06 PM

Hi, my name is Luis, I'm totally new to ruby/rails and I'm trying to learn through a hands on programming a museum software to record researchers data in a database (mysql).

In my software I need to record a integer (research_id), in a session and I have no idea how to do that. In a index page I have a list of all records and I want to create a link like "show","edit","destroy", this link will be called "use" and this link will record a id from specific line and redirect to other url.

#2 RoyTheB0y

RoyTheB0y

Signalman

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 13 January 2014 - 08:17 PM

Not really sure what you are after. If it helps Rails accesses cookies via session[] which enables access data across requests.

http://guides.rubyon...ew.html#session

so you can do

session[:research_id] = @research_id

@research_id = session[:research_id]

are you sure you want a session variable rather than keeping track of users and storing the information in your database

#3 Luis Manrique

Luis Manrique

Passenger

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 January 2014 - 08:42 PM

I want to keep this integer in a session because after log in, a user can choose one "pesquisa" as shown below, and with this value, the user can list all other tables that have the same value  as the session, actually I will use to store the foreign key for all another tables, but I insist, I'm newbie and I accept sugestions, even to delete everything and restart a new project. Thanks for the answer.

alphamuseum_2014.png

#4 Luis Manrique

Luis Manrique

Passenger

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 January 2014 - 04:53 PM