The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

redirect_to / set session using params problems

rails forms redirect_to views controllers

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Rails_Driver

Rails_Driver

Passenger

• Members
  • 5 posts
  • LocationSan Antonio, Texas

Posted 08 January 2014 - 04:42 AM

I have been working with Rails for a couple of months now, so I am still pretty new to it. I would appreciate any help with the issue I am experiencing.

I have a rails app, running Rails 3.2.14, and Ruby 2.0.0-p353. This rails app also uses twitter-bootstrap-rails (although this is not related to my issue).

I have been asked to "add" some functionality to the app (I am not the original developer), specifically, to add language choices (Español or English) as language options. Currently, the selections in the form show up as query string parameters. Based on setting the params[:lang] => "Español" or "English", I want to set the session[:language] accordingly. 

I am looking to set a session-based cookie variable called ":language" to be used throughout the course of the session. Based on session[:language], the app will render the corresponding language text. 

I am trying to add a separate form / controller to allow the end user to select their language preference.

Here are some details that are of importance to accomplish this:

At present, the employee receives a URL via e-mail which they click on, which takes them to the evaluations page (so they can complete the evaluation). IF the end-user's evaluation was flagged to enable multi-language (Spanish / English) support, then @evaluation_template.supports_spanish = 1 (it's in the model). 

What I am looking to accomplish is the following: