The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Creating User Accounts & Associations

users controllers

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 SandyF

SandyF

Passenger

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 December 2013 - 12:44 AM

Hello! I'm a recent graduate of One Month Rails and am building my first app. 

In our app, a user creates storyboards that will each have a name www.oursite.com/vanityusername/storyboard1.

So, i gather I need to create a controller called storyboards and an index where the user can create, show, update, destroy their boards.

Then I create corresponding view files and a show view has containers to hold the content tiles being uploaded via various gems. I'm also guessing I need to create a model where the name of the storyboard is stored. 

Where I'm getting lost is in the associations .

Do I have this right to set up that tiles can belong to any storyboard or none? 

class User < ActiveRecord::Base
  has_many :tles
  has_many :storyboards
end

class Tile < ActiveRecord::Base
  belongs_to :user
  belongs_to :storyboard
end

class Storyboard < ActiveRecord::Base
  has_many :tiles
  belongs_to :user
end

Thanks! 

#2 SandyF

SandyF

Passenger

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 December 2013 - 01:13 AM

I can't figure out how to edit my post so forgive. 

Would generating a scaffold called Storyboards name:string be the right way to go? 

#3 Vasspilka

Vasspilka

Signalman

• Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 30 December 2013 - 01:45 PM

Hello Sandy, and wellcome.

It seems you can only edit your post for 10 minutes after it was written.

It may be becouse I haven't had my coffee yet but I don't seem to quite understand what you want to build...Could you confirm if I got things right?

So we have a webapp, that stores users, each user has manny Storyboards, but the Storyboard is created by only one user. The storyboard has a name (and I persume other info aswell).