The ultimate community for Ruby on Rails developers.

Photo

Anyone using Cucumber?

Cucumber RSpec Capybara Rails Testing

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Stuart Hannig

Stuart Hannig

Signalman

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 07:42 PM

I'm still learning Rails, and testing is something I want to really get a hold of. My only experience so far is from RailsTutorial.org. The tutorial had a small section on Cucumber that I passed on because I was already just trying to grasp RSpec and Capybara, I didn't need to throw another plate onto the table.

So I was wondering, how many of you use Cucumber?

To me it just seemed like an extra step to the process that didn't really need to be done. Could those who use it express why they use it? I'm trying to see if it's worth the extra work or not.

It helps to slightly make the tests look like understandable English, but is that something we need as programmers? When we can read code with little problem, understanding RSpec/Capybara shouldn'y be all that hard. I just see this as another way to throw more human errors that need to be fixed when trying to run the app.

#2 Jemagee

Jemagee

Inspector

• Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 07:46 PM

I have started Hartls tutorial twice, i'm almost done the second time the first time I stopped early but I did the 'optional' cucumber section and while I saw the advantage of cucumber because it's more 'normal speak' than even Rspec - I felt that Rspec was 'normal language' enough that putting cucumber on top of it was unnecessary.  I look at it this way, if you can understand in plain english (i.e. say it out loud) what the Rspec tests are testing than Cucumber is not needed, Cucumber just adds a layer to testing that makes it 'closer' to English. 

#3 decisit

decisit

Passenger

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 August 2013 - 08:05 PM

Hi,